CJN To Swear In 12 New FCT High Court Judges Wednesday (Full List)

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, will swear in the twelve newly appointed Judges of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory on Wednesday, July 10, 2024.

According to a statement by Festus Akande, the Director of Press and Information of the Supreme Court, the swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court of Nigeria at 10:00 am.

Among the 12 judges to be sworn in is the CJN’s daughter-in-law, Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria.

The new judges to be sworn in are, Justice Buetnaan Mandy Bassi from Plateau State, Justice Ademuyiwa Olakunle Oyeyipo from Kwara State, Justice Bamodu Odunayo Olutomi from Lagos State, Justice Iheabunike Anumaenwe Godwin from Imo State, Justice Odo Celestine Obinna from Enugu State and Justice Hauwa Lawal Gummi from Zamfara State.

The others are Justice Sarah Benjamin Inesu Avoh from Bayelsa State, Justice Maryam Iye Yusuf from Kogi State, Justice Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria from Oyo State, Justice Lesley Nkesi Belema Wike from Rivers State, Justice Ibrahim Tanko Munirat from Bauchi State and Justice Abdulrahman Usman from Taraba State.

On May 17, 2024, the National Judicial Council recommended a total of 86 judicial officers for appointment in federal and state courts across the country.

The recommendations were made by the council’s Interview Committee on Appointment of Judicial Officers of all Superior Courts of Record in Nigeria, during the NJC’s 105th plenary meeting held between May 15 and 16, 2024.