Kano Governor Signs Law Scraping Five Emirates

The Kano State Governor, Abba Yusuf, has signed the bill that repealed the State Emirate Council Law 2019, which had established five emirate councils in the state.

On Thursday, the state House of Assembly passed a bill dissolving the four additional emirates created by the immediate past administration of former Governor Abdullahi Ganduje and removing all five emirs.

The law, titled the Kano State Emirates Council (Amendment No.2) Law, 2024, scrapped the five-emirate system and first-class emirs in Gaya, Rano, Karaye, and Bichi

Plateau News learned that Governor Yusuf signed the law after a closed-door meeting with some Kano kingmakers and lawmakers led by the speaker, Jibrin Falgore, at the Government House.

According to Daily Trust, the governor signed the law on Thursday evening at the Government House at exactly 5:10 pm, alongside his deputy, the Speaker of the State Assembly, and other principal officers in the government.

The law was first amended in 2019 amid a rift between former Governor Abdullahi Ganduje and the then-Emir of Kano, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, which led to the removal of Sanusi as the Emir of Kano.

The first amendment broke the Kano Emirate into five parts with the creation of the Rano, Karaye, Gaya, and Bichi emirates, and the appointment of first-class emirs for these new emirates, ultimately leading to the deposition of Sanusi.