"The Yahaya Bello vs EFCC Saga: American School Returns $760,910 meant for 14 Years of Fees"

“The Yahaya Bello vs EFCC Saga: American School Returns $760,910 meant for 14 Years of Fees”. The American International School of Abuja has refunded $760,910.84 to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) in relation to an ongoing investigation involving former Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello.

This reimbursement constitutes a portion of $845,852 that Bello purportedly paid in 2021 to cover long-term school fees for his children.

The refund pertains to the tuition fees for five children of the former governor, initially intended to secure their education from 2021 to 2035.

Allegations against Bello include misappropriating N80.2 billion from state funds, which he vehemently denies, resisting what he perceives as attempts to coerce him into admitting guilt.

Documents presented by the EFCC indicate that Bello paid a substantial sum to cover the immediate and future educational needs of his four children, with provisions for a prospective fifth child, subject to admission and availability at the school in August 2022.

According to a source within the EFCC, the American school refunded the fees in two installments, returning $720,000 initially and an additional $40,910 later.

However, the school opted to retain a portion of the fees, approximately $84,942, for their services, following a mutual agreement with the EFCC.

In response, the Head of Media and Publicity of the EFCC confirmed the refund of $760,910 by the school to the commission.

Meanwhile, Bello refutes the EFCC’s allegations regarding the payment of his children’s school fees.

In a statement released by his spokesperson, he denies using funds from the Kogi state government’s coffers for his children’s fees, disputing both the $720,000 cited by the EFCC Chairman and the $840,000 figure circulating online. Bello asserts that the payment of the fees began in 2021 and was not made around the time of his departure from office, as alleged by the EFCC chairman.